Goodbye Whales, Hello Summer

cwinterview

Winter is over! And there’s only one sad element to this glorious transition: The Grey Whales are gone. They’ve passed through our waters and are hanging out in Baja, enjoying the lovely lagoons and warmer waters. I had a great time with them this season. Over 85% of our Whale Watching tours had the amazingly intimate experience of kayaking within feet of these magnificent marine mammals.

Some of the highlights of the Grey Whale season were so incredibly inspiring, they blew my mind. The first tour of the season spotted five whales just a mile offshore. Missy and myself took out a high school on an educational field trip and after just 15 minutes of Kayaking, Missy spotted whale spouts less than a hundred yards from our tour. We had the good fortune to be able to get within five feet of them. The cherry on top though? One was an albino. The rarity of that combined with it being our first tour with a group of kids made for a truly special moment.

We also spotted two juvenile whales lost in the boat launch and surf area of the La Jolla Shores. The second one we spotted was no further than ten yards from the sand. We lost our collective mind and sprinted for the water. Missy, Ben and myself took three paths to try and intercept the young whale and play in the water with it. I was extremely lucky. Just out past the break, I dove under the last wave and saw the small grey whale just underneath me. It breached just a few arm’s lengths in front of me and looked directly into my eyes. It’s big black eye, full of intelligence and extreme awareness locked onto me and stared into my soul.

After our brief soul connection it fluked in front of me and swam away, guided by two helpful bottlenose dolphins. The experience was easily the single best moment of my life. To be so close with such a massive and intelligent creature in the surf moved me beyond words. And to be in the water with my fellow water-people, Missy and Ben, made it a communal moment that was almost spiritual.

It was an amazing winter to say the least, with awesome bookend whale encounters that make me excited for the spring and summer months. My brother Christopher is here, working at Everyday California with me. We’re getting a new shop, new digs, new hats, new van, and new opportunities for more spectacular moments.

I’m in a new place in a part of town I haven’t lived in before, with my brobro and the beach just down the street. I’m in the midst of massive change—new place with my brobro in a part of town I haven’t lived in before, I’m flying solo once again in the romance department and I’m working on myself in hopes of changing that. I’m spreading my wings and leaving behind the parts that drag me down. And I’m pretty certain I’ve reached my quota of terrible cliches and poorly structured sentences, so I bid you all farewell and I can’t wait to see what the coming months bring. Hopefully a delorean or something equally cool. Good day!   

Leave a Reply

