Happy Birthday

On December 14th, 2012 I finished The Dark Roast. It happened at 11:15 p.m. I didn’t want to believe it. I had thought I was done a couple of times before only to be dejectedly wrong. But every time I went back to the keyboard, the book became better. The last time I did, I added two chapters that ended up being crucial.

I’ve read before that a book is never finished. I definitely feel that way with The Dark Roast. In truth, I don’t like the first half of the book at all. To be completely honest, I hate it. I can’t get past the first couple of chapters. They fill me with loathing and disgust. The first half is terrible.

I like the last half though, most of which I wrote after graduating from UCSD. I learned many things during my time there, some of which made me a better writer. But what really helped me improve was time. My friend Josh refers to it as butt glue. You have to sit your ass down and write, every day. Practice, practice, practice.

I sat down and did just that. I put in the time and honed my craft. I’m proud of the work I did on the last half of the book. If I could stomach rereading the first half, I’d rewrite it. I should’ve done it. The Dark Roast would be a much better book if I had. But I didn’t. And here it is a year later, selling a few copies here and there. It’s nothing close to what I’d call a successful book in terms of sales. But it still remains one of the coolest things I’ve done.

It represents an accomplishment of discipline, more so even than my degree. And now I’m going to market it and get thousands of people to read it, love it or hate it and be ready for the next volume. Space for Cream is still in it’s infancy, but it has a much better foundation to grow from. I’m excited for it in a different way than I was for The Dark Roast. I’m more skilled, I’m more motivated, I’m a better person and I have a deeper tale to tell. You’re going to love it and just as importantly, so will I.

Thank you to everyone who read it and doubly thanks to those who left a review. I appreciate your support and I’m excited to write more stories for you. We’re going to have a wonderful and long story-sharing relationship. Get ready for it!

Leave a Reply

