Press Releases

Public Relations Manager, my newest hat for Everyday California. To be honest, I have absolutely no clue how to do that job. I’ve read a little bit about it and I’m still confused on what I need to actually do. So far, I’ve figured out that I need to come up with relevant press releases that will hopefully grab a journalist’s attention and pique their professional curiosity enough to write an article based on the release. Without getting too long-winded about it, here’s my first attempt:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Kayaking with Grey Whales

50 ft. 40 ton Grey Whales begin their annual migration south, passing by Everyday California Kayakers

La Jolla, Oct. 15, 2013 — Grey Whales provide kayakers with Everyday California once-in-a-lifetime opportunities when leaving the waters of the Arctic and heading south to the lagoons of Mexico. Each year beginning in October Grey Whales depart their feeding grounds, swimming through the waters just off the coast of San Diego on their way to their breeding grounds. Everyday California guides groups of people out past the La Jolla Ecological Reserve in tandem kayaks to watch this spectacular event. The natural boat launch in La Jolla provides a unique and safe place for kayaks to enter the open waters of the Pacific Ocean.

Mike Samer, one of the owners of Everyday California, said, “Being able to see a Grey Whale, an animal as big as a city bus, breach the water next to your kayak is one of those unforgettable moments you’ll talk about for the rest of your life. It’s like nothing you’ve ever done.” The experience begins November 15th and runs until the middle of March. The annual migration is the largest migration of any mammal. The average grey whale will travel the distance to the moon and back during its lifetime. And with population growth at record highs, Grey Whale sightings are becoming more and more frequent. For more information on Grey Whales, visit the Birch Aquarium website at http://aquarium.ucsd.edu/Education/Learning_Resources/Creature_Features/Gray_Whales/

Besides whales, Everyday California kayakers interact with Sea Lions, Harbor Seals and Common Dolphins as well. The bottom-feeding Grey Whale stirs up the nutrient-rich waters, attracting large pods of dolphins and birds such as the California Brown Pelican, the Western Gull and the Brandt’s Cormorant. This interspecies mingling creates amazing interactions for people to take part in and witness.

About Everyday California

The essence of Everyday California is based on our love of the California Dream and the ocean. Avid watermen and women are the backbone of our action water sports company. We specialize in guided kayak tours of the La Jolla Ecological Reserve, creating memorable experiences and sharing the dream. Our new clothing line embodies these ideals and expressions. Welcome to Everyday California, it’s a State of Mind. www.everydaycalifornia.com

# # #

Contact

Duke Jarboe, PR Manager/Writer/Tour Guide  
Everyday California
7472 La Jolla Blvd, CA 92037
(Office) 858.454.6195 (Cell) 619.459.2715
email: duke@everydaycalifornia.com twitter @teamedca
 
 

I did plenty of research on how to write press releases and I tried my best to follow the format and style, but I’m still unsure of what I wrote. It feels wooden and boring, but most of the press releases I read were. The how-to’s placed a huge emphasis on keeping it minimal and straightforward but that the first sentence and the headline need to hook a prospective journalist. I read this release and I find the content interesting but boring, but I am my harshest critic. What do you think? If you were a journalist, would this make you want to learn more and maybe spend your time writing about it? Let me know what you think in the comments section below. Thanks for reading!

-the Duke

2 thoughts on “Press Releases

  1. Honestly I thought it was very well written. It was straight forward yet intriguing. I know how cold that water is so I know I would never get to experience something as magnificent as I’m sure it is, but it did make me consider it! Don’t be so harsh on yourself! Great job!

Leave a Reply

