Comic Book Project

So I’m writing a script for a comic book. I don’t have a working title for it, I initially was using Solaris and then my buddy Josh Ortega quickly informed me that this was a title for a movie with George Clooney. I haven’t seen the movie, I doubt it has much in common with what I’m writing, but now I’ll have to come up with a new title. I’m usually pretty good at doing this, but I’m having a hard time with this one. I put up a page on here with the very, very short exercise that prompted the comic book idea. I would love any suggestions.

The main character is named Erik Kalldron, and his superpowers are gained from an accident with a plasma collector on the surface of the sun. The story takes place in our not too distant future. This is a future where Space Tourism is flourishing and the Space Industry in general is almost like a new wild west. There are no laws in space, only corporate policy. Some of the themes I hope to explore: Corporate-run governments, Indentured servitude gained from United States college graduates mired in student loan debt, Imperialism, Inequality, Justice, Revenge, etc.

I’m very excited about it and I hope it comes to fruition. I have a wonderful few first pages that I really like, at least for now. I have this horrible hatred for most of what I write and it is nice to not feel that way on a project. The Dark Roast pulls me down that negative hole often; I hate the first half. I can’t even read it. When I try, I want to set it on fire and delete it from Amazon. It’s crazy.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Have a good day everyone and don’t die!

 

-the duke

2 thoughts on “Comic Book Project

  1. You are an incredible writer with an intense imagination! I’m sure you will come up with something! Keep up with the blogging! Love being able to read about new ventures you are undertaking 🙂

Leave a Reply

