Hello there!

Hello there! Welcome to my blog. My name is Thomas Uriah Jarboe and I’m the author of The Dark Roast. I was born in San Diego, CA which is where I spent all my summers. During the school year I lived in a small rural town of Missouri with a population of 61, known as Leonard.  An interesting dichotomy of existence, to say the least. After high school I chose to make the sunny beaches of San Diego my permanent home. I worked at Starbucks for eight years and saw many a strange thing. I was a barista for a total of eleven years and count it as one of the most interesting things I have ever done. While working at Nordstrom as a barista, I attended and graduated from the University of California, San Diego with a degree in Literatures and Writing. I self-published The Dark Roast in December of 2012 and am currently working on the sequel, Space for Cream. My current job is one of the most exciting and spectacular jobs you could ever find. I’m a kayak tour guide for Everyday California, an adventure water sports company and burgeoning global brand. I also write for the company, having just finished writing the web content for our new website. My newest hat I wear for the company is that of the Public Relations Manager. I’m also an aficionado of mustache waxes! I rock a handlebar mustache during the winter months (the summer sun and the salty sea wreak havoc on my mustache and beard) and am always searching for that “perfect” mustache wax. I encourage all men to grow one as I believe we can achieve world peace through the unifying brotherhood of the stache. Beyond that, I have many hobbies. I love to play disc golf. I love to skate, especially downhill. I’m super geeky and love my comic books and used to be hugely invested in playing Hero Clix. Star Trek, in my opinion, is probably the single most inspiring and amazing piece of popular culture to come out of America. Science Fiction and Fantasy books are my escape from reality and my current favorites are the superb Joe Abercrombie, Patrick Rothfuss, and Scott Lynch. They are amazingly original in a somewhat over saturated genre and are showcases of a finely honed skill in the craft of writing, regardless of genre. I’m also a gigantic mobile technology geek and can often be found completely engrossed in my Nexus 4. Fantasy Football consumes me during the season and I’m tortured Chargers fan. I could probably blather on and on but I’m probably beginning to bore you if I haven’t already. So, with all that said, I’ll go ahead and sign out. If you read all the way to the end, thank you!

Leave a Reply

